Oh my god

My hometown just got flattened by another earthquake. It’s like… oh my god. I’m so glad I’m not living there at the moment. Though where I am right now hasn’t been much better.

So much has happened in the last six months.

September last year: Christchurch (the place I grew up in and still consider my hometown) had a huge earthquake. Death toll was one lemur and two cows. A lot of buildings were damaged and destroyed, though. In the ‘destroyed’ category was the primary school I went to, which has/had to be demolished (not sure if it had been yet). They relocated temporarily to the Catholic cathedral.
I recieved a text from my dad soon after it happened, which I didn’t understand until I’d heard about the quake, partly because he didn’t explain what had happened. Oh well.

January this year: Toowoomba (the place I’ve been living for the past 1 1/2 years) had a flash flood, mistakenly referred to as an ‘inland tsunami’ by many people. I didn’t find out until afterwards, since I was inside and probably asleep, and the water didn’t come inside. When I heard about it, I was worried for one of my friends, since she lives in Withcott. Downhill from Toowoomba. Not a good place to be. She was fine, though. Her place is on a small hill/incline thing, so yeah.
I also wondered how my favourite shop handled it. It’s a small business, run by some pretty cool people, next door to a very badly damaged shop. Neo Tokyo survived. Not only that, they opened again less than a week later. And they were in one of the worst hit parts of Toowoomba. CMoA, for sure.

Yesterday: Christchurch had another earthquake. This one had less energy, but it was worse. Centered in Lyttleton Harbour (an old volcano crater). The Cathedral that gives Cathedral Square its name (the Anglican one) is very badly damaged. The other main cathedral (the Catholic one) is damaged, too. So my primary school has nowhere to teach. Again. At least they won’t have to worry about it for a while, since school is cancelled until further notice.
My dad was once again first to give me information, since he still lives there. He texted me about the quake, and also said that the relatives who live in Chch are safe. I have a lot of relatives over there. My dad and his new family, my dad’s mum, my dad’s two sisters and their families, plus other aunts, uncles and cousins.

This would probably be a good excuse for not doing last night’s homework. ‘My hometown got destroyed again’.

Leave a Reply

